The Oscars

The Oscar ceremonies threw up a couple of ‘firsts’ as Kathryn Bigelow became the first woman to win the best directing award and Sandra Bullock became the first person to be awarded a ‘Razzie’ (Worst Actress Award) and an Oscar (Best Actress Award) in the same year.

Kathryn Bigelow took the best directing Oscar for her Iraq war drama The Hurt Locker with the film receiving a total of six prizes including best film. Only three technical awards from the much heralded ‘Avatar’, the most successful film of all time.

After picking up a ‘Razzie’ for her role in ‘All about Steve’, and actually attending the ceremony, Sandra Bullock received the Best Actress award for her role as real-life Southern matriarch Leigh Anne Tuohy in the film ‘The Blind Side.

The full list of winners:

Best Motion Picture of the Year: “The Hurt Locker”
Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role: Jeff Bridges – “Crazy Heart”
Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role: Sandra Bullock – “The Blind Side”
Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role: Christoph Waltz – “Inglourious Basterds”
Performance by Actress in a Supporting Role: Mo’Nique – “Precious: Based on the Novel PUSH by Sapphire”
Achievement in Directing: Kathryn Bigelow – “The Hurt Locker”
Adapted Screenplay: “Precious: Based on the Novel PUSH by Sapphire” by Geoffrey Fletcher
Original Screenplay: “The Hurt Locker” by Mark Boal
Best Animated Feature Film of the Year: “Up” – Pete Docter and Bob Peterson
Best Documentary Feature: “The Cove” – Robert Kenner and Elise Pearlstein
Best Foreign Language Film of the Year: “The Milk of Sorrow” – Claudia Llosa, Peru
Achievement in Art Direction: “Avatar” – Art Direction: Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg; Set Decoration: Kim Sinclair
Achievement in Cinematography: “Avatar” – Mauro Fiore
Achievement in Costume Design: “The Young Victoria” – Sandy Powell
Achievement in Film Editing: “The Hurt Locker” – Bob Murawski and Chris Innis
Achievement in Makeup: “Star Trek” – Barney Burman, Mindy Hall and Joel Harlow
Achievement in Music Written for Motion Pictures (Original Score): “Up” – Michael Giacchino
Achievement in Music Written for Motion Pictures (Original Song): “The Weary Kind (Theme from Crazy Heart)” from “Crazy Heart” – Music and Lyric by Ryan Bingham and T-Bone Burnett
Achievement in Sound Editing: “The Hurt Locker” – Paul N.J. Ottosson
Achievement in Sound Mixing: “The Hurt Locker” – Paul N.J. Ottosson and Ray Beckett
Achievement in Visual Effects: “Avatar” – Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham and Andrew R. Jones
Best Documentary Short Subject: “Music by Prudence” – Roger Ross Williams and Elinor Burkett
Best Animated Short Film: “Logorama” – Nicolas Schmerkin
Best Live Action Short Film: “The New Tenants” – Joachim Back and Tivi Magnusson

%d bloggers like this: