Formula One 2013

For those who follow Formula One, here is the full calendar for 2013, a total of nineteen races starting in Melbourne, Australia, on March 17th and ending at Interlagos, Brazil, on November 24th 2013.

Hamilton wins in Texas

The Formula One world championship will be decided at the last race of the season in Brazil after leader Sebastian Vettel finished second in the US Grand Prix in Austin, Texas, and his title rival Alonso, aided by Ferrari giving his teammate Massa a deliberate five-place grid penalty,  finished third. The race was won by Lewis Hamilton.

Alonso wins in Germany

Fernando Alonso in a Ferrari basically led from start to finish in the German Grand Prix at Hockenheim, increasing his lead over Mark Webber at the top of the standings to a fairly commanding 34 points. Reigning champion Sebastian Vettel finished second and the 2009 champion Jenson Button completed the podium placings.

Alonso leads F1 World Championship

Fernando Alonso now leads the Formula 1 World Championship, three points clear of Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber, after a third place in the Monaco GP. The race was won by Red Bull’s Mark Webber, his second Monaco victory in three years, with Nico Rosberg finishing second.

Ban on team orders lifted in Formula One

Formula One chiefs have finally decided to lift the ban on team orders for next season which should mean an end to the amusingly unsubtle coded messages currently being employed. In other words, no change really.

Alonso wins in Korea

Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso moved into the championship lead after winning a bizarre, rain-affected inaugural Korean Grand Prix in which both Red Bull drivers failed to finish.

Advancement through inactivity

English golfer Lee Westwood will not compete for at least a month to recover from injury – a move which should guarantee he becomes the new world number one. This is a result of the strange machinations of the ranking system, rather akin to Formula One whereby the only possibility to overtake is in the pit lane when the car …

Alonso handed victory in Germany

Fernando Alonso ‘won’ a rather processional German Grand Prix after Ferrari blatantly ordered Felipe Massa to let his team-mate past, an action which will no doubt be a talking point for some time to come.

Webber wins Spanish Grand Prix

Australian Mark Webber led from start to finish to win the Spanish Grand Procession at the Cataluña circuit, Fernado Alonso grabbing second place after Lewis Hamilton crashed out on the penultimate lap as the result of a puncture. Third place went to Sebastian Vettel in a highly uneventful race, apart from mechanical problems.

BMW pulling out of F1 at the end of the season

BMW are quitting Formula One at the end of the 2009 season, ending a week of speculation and rumour. BMW took over the former Sauber team in 2005 and began racing under their own name in 2006, giving themselves three years to win the F1 Constructor’s title. They were apparently very confident that they would achieve this objective, but reality …