Nine ‘Q’ flags for the Costa del Sol

The ‘Q’ for ‘Quality’ flags will fly on nine beaches on the Costa del Sol this summer with the awards ceremony being held on June 5th.

The ‘Q’ flags relate to services and facilities on beaches in Spain and of the 173 awarded, 58 are in Andalucia. Beaches are judged on equipment, cleanliness, safety, lifesaving and information or services benefiting the tourist.

Surprisingly, considering that the eastern Costa del Sol has the highest volume of visitors, there are no ‘Q’ flags for this section of the coast.

The nine flags on the Costa del Sol are for: El Palo, Pedregalejo, Misericordia and El Dedo in Málaga city, Algarrobo-Mezquitilla, Torrecilla and Burriana in Nerja, Benajarafe and Torre del Mar.

  1. Mark says:

    It’s a shame that the section ‘information or services benefiting the tourist’ doesn’t include information relating to swimming in raw sewage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: