The San Joaquin Sugar Mill, located between Nerja and Maro on the old N-340 coast road, is now derelict but remains a fascinating sight. There was a long tradition of sugar cane plantations and sugar cane mills in the area dating from the XVI century.
The mill was built in 1884 by Francisco Cantarero and owned by the Marquis de Tous. It closed down in 1911 and then, in 1930, was acquired by the Larios sugar company and reopened. A distillery was also part of the complex.
The building dominates the area and walking round the ruins is in some ways reminiscent of walking round some of the old, crumbling castles.