Pedrosa wins at Mugello

Dani Pedrosa became the first rider to win from pole position this season as he secured victory in the Italian MotoGP at Mugello.

Championship leader and fellow Spaniard Jorge Lorenzo came home second, with Pedrosa’s Repsol Honda team-mate Andrea Dovizioso third.

Pedrosa’s win puts him second in the standings behind Lorenzo and it has allowed him to overtake defending world champion Valentino Rossi in the championship standings. Rossi, who broke his leg during practice on Saturday, could be out for the rest of the season.

Mugello result:
1 D Pedrosa (Sp) Repsol Honda
2 J Lorenzo (Sp) Fiat Yamaha
3 A Dovizioso (It) Repsol Honda
4 C Stoner (Aus) Ducati
5 M Melandri (It) San Carlo Honda
6 R de Puniet (Fr) Honda
7 B Spies (US) Yamaha
8 A Espargaro (Sp) Pramac Racing
9 M Simoncelli (Ita) San Carlo Honda
10 L Capirossi (It) Rizla Suzuki
11 H Aoyama (Jpn) Honda
12 H Barbera (Sp) Paginas Amarillas Aspar Ducati
13 C Edwards (US) Yamaha
14 A Bautista (Sp) Suzuki

Championship standings:
1 J Lorenzo (Sp) Yamaha 90
2 D Pedrosa (Sp) Honda 65
3 V Rossi (It) Yamaha 61
4 A Dovizioso (It) Honda 58
5 N Hayden (US) Ducati 39
6 R de Puniet (Fr) Honda 36
7 M Melandri (It) Honda 32
8 C Stoner (Aus) Ducati 24
9 M Simoncelli (It) Honda 23
10 B Spies (US) Yamaha 20
11 H Barbera (Sp) Ducati 19
12 C Edwards (US) Yamaha 19
13 H Aoyma (Jpn) Honda 18
14 A Espargaro (Sp) Ducati 16
15 L Capirossi (It) Suzuki 13
16 M Kallio (Fin) Ducati 12
17 A Bautista (Sp) Suzuki 8

%d bloggers like this: