Two Malaga towns to get more funding after being declared ‘tourist municipalities’

Six Andalucian towns have now been declared as being ‘tourist municipalities’ and include two in Malaga Province.

In recognition of their importance to tourism, each of the towns will be able to get funding to help them cope with an influx of tourists during the summer.

The Malaga towns awarded the classification are Frigiliana and Antequera. The other four towns are Nijar in Almeria, La Iruela in Jaen, Isla Cristina in Huelva and Aznalcazar in Sevilla.

Being granted the distinction of being a tourist town helps the local authorities get additional funding to help deal with the demand on the infrastructure and local services. This is the first time that towns with less than 5,000 inhabitants have been given special tourist status.

Frigiliana is just minutes from Nerja and is popular day trip from Nerja for visitors to the region.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: